I am ill

I had a day off last week because I had a head cold, and I thought that was it. Had a wonderful weekend (went to see Spamalot at the Palace Theatre, it was fabulous!) and I thought I was better.  But yesterday I started coughing, and today I can barely swallow. My ear is blocked, and when I cough, it burns in my chest. Yuk.

I’m ill, there’s no getting away from it. So I’ve sent instructions to the office on what to do while I’m away, and I will be trying to take it easy. But I’m rubbish at putting my feet up. I don’t like to waste time, so I daresay I’ll find lots of useful things to do while I’m ill.

Anyone else ill?

4 Responses to “I am ill”


  1. 1 Moobs 31 October 2006 at 9:19 am

    NIce blog. Sorry to hear you’re ill spanners. Rest is good for illness though – it helps you recover faster so allow yourself some downtime.

  2. 2 ecparamedic 31 October 2006 at 8:28 pm

    Treatment for acute vertigo caused by labyrinthitis always seems a bit of a fob-off, ie “here’s some anti emetics, go and sit in a darkened room.” Sadly due to it usually being viral in origin there isn’t much else to do. On an average week in the surgery I’ll see a couple of miserable puking punters who can’t let go of the bed covers. It’s a crappy debilitating illness, hope it sorts itself out soon! SD

  3. 3 drunkenspaniel 1 November 2006 at 10:25 am

    Hi Moobs – good to see you. I’m confined to barracks now – the cold is dropping to my chest, and I’m definitely feeling worse. Ventolin inhalers on stand-by.

    Hi ECP, my vertigo was caused by a viral infection back in the autumn/Christmas of 2002. I had three viral infections at the time, and they put me in hospital in the end. I never had the need for anti-emetics, because the vertigo didn’t cause nausea. The virus seems to have given me some permanent inner-ear damage, so I get occasional episodes now when I’m really tired or really stressed. Fortunately my current cold is not producing vertigo symptoms (thank god!!). Thanks for stopping by!

  4. 4 ecparamedic 4 November 2006 at 1:12 pm

    Eeww, sounds nightmarish!

    SD 😉


Leave a Reply

