Man I love the cake!!

I am making a concerted effort to eat better and exercise more. According to the evil BMI warlocks I exist smack in the centre of the ‘FAT’ category. It has not always been so. Last time I took a bit more care over what I ate, I lost three stone in one year, and got back to my so-called ideal weight which put me in the centre of the ‘OK’ category. The warlocks were happy, but I looked terrible.

Towards the end of that year I became very very ill  – my immune system had been eaten away silently by the stress of living with a mentally ill husband, and by the new year I was in hospital. I lost another half stone, but according to the warlocks I was my perfect weight.

A few weeks after being discharged from hospital I left my husband and went to live with my parents to recover. My mother is not a slim woman, and she likes to eat good food – especially food with extra calories and lashings of butter. I recovered, but my weight crept up over the next two years, through the ‘OVERWEIGHT’ category and now, where I reside, in the ‘FAT’ group.

Well, the BMI warlocks are, as I said, evil. And they are also wrong. It appears I need to be across the border just into ‘overweight’ to look ok and to feel ok – so that’s the country I’m heading for.  The way to lose the pounds is to eat healthily, but not to cut things out of your diet that you like. Otherwise you’ll be getting a bit thinner but you’ll be miserable, and you’ll never keep it up.

I’ll keep you posted with how I’m doing.

 I the meantime I’m going to make my christmas cake today. You can’t have christmas without some lovely fruitcake, so I’m going to have some. I’ll make it myself, and that way I’ll know exactly what’s in it, and how much of it I can eat for a treat and still lose weight.

Does anyone else still make their own christmas cake?

Does anyone else disagree with the BMI warlocks?

7 Responses to “Man I love the cake!!”


  1. 1 Pete 25 November 2006 at 1:55 pm

    Yeah, I disagree with them. They classify people as overweight and obese who clearly aren’t, it’s them, more than anyone who is driving the ‘you must be thin’ crusade. Plenty of people can look at Kate Moss and not feel the need to crash diet, but being told your clinically overweight or obese makes it a whole different ball game for a lot of people.

    I say, let them eat cake!

  2. 2 floatykatja 25 November 2006 at 2:13 pm

    I’m at the upper edges of the OK section but don’t feel entirely happy with myself at this weight – it’s all about the way you feel.

    I still make my own christmas cake and pudding, although this year I’m going to be at my mum and dad’s for Christmas, so I probably won’t bother, as there will already be a complete glut of food there!

  3. 3 MSG 25 November 2006 at 6:39 pm

    Spaniel,

    I hate the BMI system. It no longer is of any use, but continues to be used to tell patients that they have to loose weight, exercise more, and generally be more active. In the US that’s not a bad thing, but the BMI is often flawed. I’ve been in the overweight category for years and only when I was extremely obsessed with my dietary intakes did I actually fall into the “good” category. I’m in generally good shape and exercise regularly with weights and aerobics. Yet I’m still “overweight”.

  4. 4 drunkenspaniel 26 November 2006 at 8:52 am

    Pete, floaty – how lovely to hear from you again!
    I’m glad its not just me against the warlocks.

    MSG – I agree ‘they’ need some guideline to help patients to understand that they’re too heavy and therefore at higher risk, but I think ‘they’ could probably do with being slightly less precise about these things. Giving a target range rather than a point on the graph is probably a bit more helpful.

    Anyway – Christmas cake cooked, cooled and wrapped in foil now. Yummy!

    P.S. I’ve lost 1.5 kilos this week. Hurrah!

  5. 5 Moobs 26 November 2006 at 9:03 pm

    I have once again forgotten that once marathon training is over I have to stop eating teh massive calorific load I have been chowing. I am married to a woman who can tell you the calorific content of a ball of wool.

  6. 6 undercovercookie 27 November 2006 at 10:47 am

    BMI is just a guideline and nothing more. It’s more important to feel comfortable with yourself than to fit into a specific range (or clothes). for me though – it was a wake up call when I realised I was underweight when I came back from Indonesia. I’m in the normal range now but in the upper end of it and am not going to worry too much about that.
    Moobs: acrylic or lambswool? I think there is more protein in the latter, so it’s probably better for you. May not be suitable for vegetarians, though.

  7. 7 Liz 30 November 2006 at 2:35 pm

    Hey Spaniel, I agree with the range being somewhat rediculous at times. Especially because i’m short! If i were to gain 5 lbs, i would be overweight. However, the low-range of my “normal” or “healthy” weight is a rediculous figure (for me) that i haven’t weighed since i was probably 13 years old. I’m going to go try weigh my boobs and see if they are making a difference at all 😉


Leave a Reply

