Not losing it

I’ve had a setback on my wonderful weight loss programme. I did well to begin with, and lost more than half a stone in those first 5 weeks, but then came christmas and a week’s holiday, and now I’m sitting by the scales at the end of week 7 and I’ve gained a kilo and lost nothing in the last fortnight.

I shouldn’t be too hard on myself, because in the first week of watching my food intake I lost 1.5 kilos in 7 days. I just need to get back to my routine, I think. Oh, and take a bit more exercise, of course! 

I hope to have better news next weekend.

2 Responses to “Not losing it”


  1. 1 Moobs 9 January 2007 at 8:36 pm

    I am (hopefully literally) running my arse off in training again and my weight has gone up. The body behaves in a non-linear way. Staying positive is ultimately harder than losing weight so stick with it girl.

  2. 2 anotherblogger 10 January 2007 at 9:53 am

    echoing Moobs. Don;t forget that muscle weighs more than fat and that the inital weightloss at the start of a programme is water. You;re looking for something a little more long term, so stick with it. You’ll get there. Also your goal should not just be to lose weight, but to get fitter (cos the health benefits of this are worth the effort) Even if you’re not losing as fast as you’d like, you’re STILL getting fitter and the weight will soon follow.
    I read somewhere that it takes 3 months to properly gain muscle. Once that happens, that is when your metabolic rate starts picking up, so give it time. It takes time to get fat, so it also takes time to get thin.


Leave a Reply

