Wisdom of the Teeth

Last week I told you about the pain in my jaw, and the fact that I thought it was referred pain from my wisdom tooth. Well, I went to the dentist on Wednesday and saw the dentist. He wasn’t my dentist, oh no – mine had been ‘called away’ whatever that’s code for. So, I told him my problem; the clicking jaw as standard, the suddenly appearing pain in my jaw etc etc. He was very young and very new, this chap – perhaps a locum? I don’t know. Anyway, he had an excellent bedside manner, and was at pains to explain what he was going to do – but did he know what he was talking about? Not sure.

Anyway, I tthen went off to have an Xray with the dentalnurse-witch. Why are they so rude? The machinery moved around me like some sci-fi film, while the digital xray images were sent along the data cables to my dentist’s laptop (all this on the NHS!!), and I tramped back to the waiting room. When I got called in again, he showed me my Xray, pointed out all the fillings, and showed me the wisdom tooth and jaw. Nothing. All looks fine.

I have a week to rest my jaw. Ha ha ha!! Eat a soft, non-chewy diet, take regular ibuprofen, try not to open your mouth wide, so avoid yawning. Avoid yawning? How do you do that?

I’ve got to go back to my own dentist next week to see if its got any better – but if the do need to remove that wisdom tooth, they’ll need to recover the one from my lower jaw too……. and that one is very deep-set, so I’m not looking forward to it at all. Maybe its not my tooth, and my TMJ is the root of the problem.

I don’t think I’m going to have an easy ride, either way.

Oh, and just to cap it all, I’ve woken up with a sore throat and ear-ache today.

Meh.

2 Responses to “Wisdom of the Teeth”


  1. 1 hoverfrog 16 February 2007 at 9:44 am

    My wisdom teeth bothered me for nearly 10 years. At the grand old age of 29 I had the lot removed. The surgeon who took them out reassured me that it was a standard procedure by breaking rocks with his hands and bending steel bars round his neck.

    After I’d had them out they wouldn’t stop bleeding for two days and I had this pain in my chest like someone had knelt on it with a very sturdy knee.

    I’ve had no trouble since though.


Leave a Reply

