Scared to use the S word

No, not that S word, I’m talking about Stress.

I know I’m stressed. There. I said it.

Thing is, I don’t give out the usual stress signs and symptoms, so other people wouldn’t necessarily know, but my health suffers. My body starts speaking to me in the way only a body can – its making me tired, and its giving me pain. The next stage will be an infection or a cold. Just you wait and see. 

I’m hanging on by my finger tips, (no sniffles yet), but its not gonna last long. I’m taking some comfort for having recognised it. Last time this happened, I didn’t realise until I was admitted to hospital!!. This is progress, I guess.  

At the moment I have excruciating pain in my neck from all the phone work I’m doing. I know I already have an RSI to my neck from the first 5 years of spending most of the day on the phone, so it shouldn’t have been much of a surprise, since I’ve just done another 2 years of the same in this job. I’ve ordered a head-set – so that should help. (It fixed it last time). 

2 of my staff of 4 have left, so I have two temps who are lovely, but not the same as my experienced staff. They require supervision, and time I just don’t have. This makes me stressed. Ho hum. One of my members of staff has just had a heart-attack and is likely to be off work for several weeks more.

At least the last member of staff, Ann, (who has a tendency to revert to being an evil back-stabbing witch if you don’t keep an eye on her) is being really helpful and useful at the moment. Trouble is, I still find myself wondering if she has an alterior motive…..

Oh, and if that wasn’t enough, my colleague is off sick, recovering  from an operation, and my manager is on a carabbean cruise for three weeks, so I’m having to cover for them too.

I think I have the right to be stressed, don’t you? 

2 Responses to “Scared to use the S word”


  1. 1 Moobs 1 April 2007 at 10:25 pm

    I know the worst thing about men is unsolicited advice but have you thought about getting a headset for your phone? It helped me a lot.

    With your permission I’ll have a word with the Almighty on your behalf. My Mother swears by it.

  2. 2 drunkenspaniel 2 April 2007 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks Moobz – yes, Headset ordered – I think I already said that, didn’t I?

    Yes, put a word in with the Almighty for me. What harm can it do?
    Thing is, I haven’t ever had much of a relationship with the Omnipotent one, so he’ll probably just say – Who?

    But worth a try.


Leave a Reply

