Simple Pleasures

I’ve had a stomach bug since early Saturday morning. I shan’t go into too many horrid details, but lets just say that you feel very close to death when your system is trying to purge itself.  I had a fever over the last 24 hours, too, and generally felt weak and poorly.

Today I’m beginning to feel a bit better, though I’ve eaten nothing in about 26 hours.

What always strikes me, when I’ve been ill like this, is how the simplest things in life can make you feel so good. Like washing your hair, or brushing your teeth.

This morning I dragged myself out of bed, having slept for about 11 hours, ran a bath (I would probably have fainted if I’d got in the shower), and soaked for 10 minutes. It was fabulous. I now have clean hair and soft skin and feel reborn.  

I’m sure these things happen so that we can get some perspective on life.

Its certainly made me realise that I’m not going to be staying at work late for a couple of weeks. I need some rest-time.

Oh, and this is definitley NOT a good way to be losing weight.

2 Responses to “Simple Pleasures”


  1. 1 Katja 8 April 2007 at 2:20 pm

    Ugh – poor you. It is wonderful when you start to feel better again, though. Hope you’re back to full strength soon.

  2. 2 MSG 11 April 2007 at 11:08 am

    Hope you really start to feel better. If it continues for more than a few days make sure you’re fluid loading. And that with an electrolye solution – really easy to get hypo-something when you have stomach problems.


Leave a Reply

