Good News Part 1

As you know, Last Thursday (3rd) was my 30th Birthday.

I took the day off and Badger planned for us to go to London, buy my birthday present (a nice wristwatch) and have dinner. I was looking forward to it.

Since we would be dining in a nice restaurant, rather than the Harvester or the All You Can Eat Carvery, he suggested we dress smart for our London trip. He didn’t tell me where we were going, it would be a surprise.

Anyway, we got a taxi to the station, so we could both have a drink later, and we got ourselves off to Oxford Street to start the search for a new watch for me. I’d already looked in the windows of my local jewellery shops, and had spotted a few I liked, so I had a bit of a head start. We looked in all the lovely posh department stores, too, like Selfridges and John Lewis, but couldn’t find what we were after.

About an hour later, I tried on a couple of silver-bracelet watches in a tiny but well-known jeweller’s in Oxford Street, and chose a Tissot with a mother of pearl face. I was pleased. Our shopping done, it was time for lunch, and Badger said he wanted to eat in the little restaurant in the middle of St James’ Park, called Inn the Park.

We ate there, probably more than we should have done for a couple with dinner plans, but it was a special day! We decided to go for a walk through the park to wear off lunch, and so we walked through the park to Buckingham Palace, past the Japanese Tourists and their very British guide speaking in a BBC broadcasting accent!

We crossed the mall and into Green Park, where the sun was beginning to shine through the beautiful avenues of trees, casting patches of shadow and watered sunlight onto our path. Squirrels played, and we felt quite spring-like and peaceful. We perched on a bench and looked at the beauty of nature around us.

“So, ” said Badger eventually, “Do you think we’ll stay together a long time, then?”

“Oh, of course we will!” I said, as he edged round to face me better on the bench. This is a bit odd, I thought. He’s looking at me rather intensely, here, considering we’re sitting on a bench to look at the scenery…

“Will you marry me, then?”

“Of course I will!!” I sobbed, completely surprised and overwhelmed with the moment, throwing my arms around his neck and hugging him.

We composed ourselves, dabbed my tears of joy, and continued our walk in the warm sunshine, wide grins on our faces, feeling really smug and happy. So we celebrated with an ice-cream from Wellington’s Arch souvenir shop on Hyde Park Corner, before returning to Oxford Street to choose a special necklace for me to celebrate both engagement and birthday. It is beautiful.

Then we went off to an amazing dinner at Patterson’s (Mill St) to celebrate. We haven’t been able to wipe the smile off our faces all week. It was truly special – and I couldn’t have asked for anything more romantic.

I didn’t know whether I would ever find someone I was as comfortable sharing my life with as Badger. We really are soul-mates. Someone described us as two halves of the same person – and I think that’s absolutely right.

Anyway, on Friday, we went to choose an engagement ring – and it is as well-crafted and beautiful as our relationship: plain, simple smooth ring in white gold, with a brilliant white diamond which sparkles with life, and a carefully constructed, solid base, full of craftsmanship and love which holds it all together. Perfect.

I collect it today. I can’t wait.

So you see, I really did have some good news to tell you!

6 Responses to “Good News Part 1”


  1. 1 flightbuff 13 May 2007 at 10:01 am

    Congratulations! That is good news which you must be over the moon about.

  2. 2 hoverfrog 13 May 2007 at 10:03 am

    If this is part 1 then I can’t wait for part 2.

  3. 3 Katja 14 May 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Hooray! Congratulations – that’s fantastic news. 😀

  4. 4 drunkenspaniel 14 May 2007 at 10:02 pm

    I’ve got my ring now, and its beautiful – truly stunning. I can’t stop looking at it!

    I bet you can’t wait for good news part 2, can you?

    Well, I actually have a good news part 3 and 4 too, now….

  5. 5 Booger 15 May 2007 at 8:15 am

    2, 3 AND 4?… Blimey! Congratulations, that’s awesome.

  6. 6 ian 23 May 2007 at 9:37 am

    CONGRATULATIONS…….

    How about showing us a picture of the ring then…….


Leave a Reply

