Demob Happy

I suddenly realised I’m suffering from being Demob Happy at work, but I’m trying hard not to let it show. I was interested to read about where this phrase originates here.

The tell-tale signs are:

  • smiling too much
  • smiling wryly when you realise that a problem is coming up in a few weeks that others haven’t spotted, and knowing full well that you won’t be here to deal with it…..
  • throwing things away without conscience

 I’ve done all three today.

Its a fantastic feeling……………

Just 3.5 weeks to go……. Ha Ha Ha!

P.S. Cakewatch is not going well. The last month of celebrating has meant I’ve gained 2lbs. Damn.

3 Responses to “Demob Happy”


  1. 1 hoverfrog 31 May 2007 at 10:20 am

    I’m hoping to win the lottery so that I too may come to understand the phrase “demob happy”.

  2. 2 Moobs 2 June 2007 at 10:40 pm

    Are you going to have a huge low calorie celebration when you go? Are you coming to the blinks at my place on 28 July?

  3. 3 drunkenspaniel 3 June 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Moobs – no, probably have the full-calorie version.
    And, no to your second point for two reasons: 1) I’ll be on holiday 2) meeting people off the internet scares me. As lovely as I’m sure you all are, I worry that there may be axe-murderers lurking…


Leave a Reply

