Ask the Expert

Yesterday I went to see the Orthopaedic Surgeon about my dodgy ankle.

I have some nice X-rays of my foot here with me as a souvenir, but in a nutshell, I need an arthroscopy, which is where they’ll look inside the joint and find out what’s left of it, and how much damage the last 10 years of falling over on it have done.

If that is straight forward, I’ll need 2 weeks to recover. If they find arthritis in the joint, they’ll treat that, but it will take me 6 weeks to recover. I’ll need to be on crutches. Lovely.

Once they’ve done the arthroscopy and I’ve recovered, we’ll know what the second operation is going to be. Best case is a small ligament repair, worst case is full ankle reconstruction, which will result in being in plaster for 8 weeks……..

I’m SO not looking forward to this. Especially as I’m starting a new job in 3 weeks.

Mind you, he was clear that if I don’t do something about it, I will end up randomly falling over, and eventually I’ll fracture something – which would be far worse.

Meh.

6 Responses to “Ask the Expert”


  1. 1 Moobs 3 June 2007 at 12:09 am

    That sucks. Hope the arthroscopy brings tolerable news.

  2. 2 hoverfrog 3 June 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Randomly falling over doesn’t sound too bad. I spent most of my late teens and early twenties working towards that very objective.

    No?

  3. 3 drunkenspaniel 4 June 2007 at 6:01 pm

    No, Frog. No alcohol involved!!!

  4. 4 Liz 5 June 2007 at 4:44 am

    that stinks 😦
    hope it all turns out ok!

  5. 5 drunkenspaniel 6 June 2007 at 10:31 pm

    I have a provisional date of 2nd August for the procedure now.
    2 months time. I’ll let you know how it goes.


  1. 1 Countdown to Surgery « Still Spinning Trackback on 29 July 2007 at 11:10 am

Leave a Reply

