I Miss Broadband

……. I really do. This dial-up is taking forever, and god only knows what its costing me.

Tiscali tell me it could be up to three weeks before my service is restored because ‘there’s an exchange problem’. My understanding of the ‘problem’ is that some so-called engineer needs to go to the exchange and flip a switch over. How does that take 3 weeks?????

Meanwhile I’m still paying for broadband I’m not using. Where’s the justice in that? 

7 Responses to “I Miss Broadband”


  1. 1 blue soup 26 June 2007 at 9:00 am

    Don’t pay for it!! Tell them in no uncertain terms that they have not delivered and you will not pay for a service you are not receiving, regardless of whether it is down to waiting for an engineer or what – that is hardly your fault!! You need to stand your ground with companies like this. They make massive profits every year and part of that comes down to this kind of overcharging! A stern phonecall followed up in writing should do the trick.

  2. 2 hoverfrog 26 June 2007 at 12:28 pm

    They don’t actually need to go to the exchange and flip a switch. It can be done from a BT office electronically. It takes about 2 seconds. They’re just using it as an excuse because they don’t want have an answer. It’s probably BT’s fault anyway.

    You should definitely not pay for a service that you aren’t getting. Ask for three months free service and let them haggle you down.

  3. 3 liz 28 June 2007 at 6:22 am

    hey! that’s what i’m going through too. the same exact thing!! about the guy having to go to the exchange and flip the switch.. I was like,”give me the address and i’ll go do it my damn self!!” WtF?!
    But there is no way i’m paying for it. they said they would refund me the time that we don’t have our broadband. and that better be the case since it’s costing us $99 to transfer to our new apt. what bullpoop.

  4. 4 drunkenspaniel 1 July 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Well, I phoned them up 10 days later and it turned out they’d done bugger-all since I last phoned. I was even more irate.
    I’ve ordered broadband with BT and they’ll install it Thursday. As for TISCALI, the bastards. I’m cancelling.
    I will write and complain, too.

  5. 5 drunkenspaniel 15 October 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Well done, Mr Frog. Tiscali are bastards. I’m still waiting for them to tell me they’re happy to accept the £6.99 I offered them in my last letter.


  1. 1 Tiscali and BT « The Magnificent Frog Trackback on 15 October 2007 at 9:58 am
  2. 2 A Word to the Wise - Don’t use Tiscali « Still Spinning Trackback on 17 November 2007 at 9:07 am

Leave a Reply

