Countdown to Surgery

I am 4 days away from my ankle arthroscopy. For more details about this, see here.

I swear my body knows. My ankle has been aching more than usual, swelling up and generally being more uncomfortable as I get nearer to the surgery date. This could be coincindence – and I’m a great believer in coincidences.

I’m not really dreading the operation as I know it is a means to an end, and it needs to be done if I’m going to walk down the aisle on my wedding day in a pair of pretty shoes without risking a trip to A&E for head injuries or a fractured arm.

The only thing is, in 1990 I had a general anaesthetic and I had a bad reaction to it. I was throwing up before I was even awake, and they ended up keeping me in over night. Now the surgeon has promised me that general anaesthetic drugs have improved considerably over the last 17 years (bloody hell ! 17 years, where did that time go??!!). So fingers crossed. The fact I’m in a private hospital may also help.

We shall see.

Spaniel xx

8 Responses to “Countdown to Surgery”


  1. 1 Moobs 29 July 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Good luck. I’ll keep my fingers (or more aptly my legs and toes) crossed!

  2. 2 hoverfrog 30 July 2007 at 9:30 am

    Good luck indeed. I nearly saud break a leg but then stopped myself. I expect you’re getting a lot of that at the moment.

  3. 3 hoverfrog 30 July 2007 at 10:31 am

    “said” I meant “said” not “saud”

  4. 4 Liz 30 July 2007 at 11:11 am

    Good luck!!! I’ll be thinking of you in Aus. I had my wisdom teeth out a couple of years ago and had a sort of bad reaction to the general too. I couldn’t stop crying and i was very disoriented and emotional. Anyway… good luck! I think it helps to have a loved one near by when you “come to.”

  5. 5 kingmagic 31 July 2007 at 11:35 am

    Good luck and I hope your ankle gets sorted.

    When are you getting married if I may be so bold to ask?

  6. 6 drunkenspaniel 1 August 2007 at 6:30 pm

    King – you may be bold. Its 28th March 2009 – plenty of time to get sorted out!

  7. 7 hoverfrog 2 August 2007 at 4:20 pm

    So this surgery would be tomorrow then? When will you blog again so that we don’t sit about fretting and biting our nails?

  8. 8 Jason 3 August 2007 at 7:29 am

    Fingers crossed that all goes well!!


Leave a Reply

