So, what next, then?

I’m recovering well – but my ankle keeps reminding me that I’m not as recovered as I think I am. I can’t stand for long, as my foot gets sore and swells – so I’m trying to spend as much time sitting down as I can. My ankle joint is more loose than ever – I have to be very careful.

As for the update with the surgeon, I will need an ankle reconstruction. There is no getting away from it. I cannot afford to fall over again, either – so I must wear my brace when I’m walking anywhere.

Stitches out Tuesday, and then take things easy until such a time as I can get another surgical operation. Wish me luck.

I feel a bit of a fraud. While it really is a crap ankle, and everyone medical is sucking their teeth and telling me how much care I’ll need to take, I just want to get on with things. I don’t feel ill, and I don’t really feel any worse (apart from a tender spot on top of my foot where they stuck the tools in) than I did before the operation.

I know I mustn’t do myself any further harm, and I must allow myself time to recover, but life has to continue too! I’ve been off work a week, and I’m going nuts!!!

1 Response to “So, what next, then?”


  1. 1 hoverfrog 10 August 2007 at 9:35 am

    It sounds like you have a perfect excuse to put your feet up and get waited on like royalty….except that gets old and boring really quickly.

    Have you got any reading to catch up on?


Leave a Reply

