Dr, I appear to be suffering from Malapropism…..

I overheard this wonderful mis-use of a word, and rekindled my absolute adoration of such sentences. If only I could think of some better examples. Perhaps you can? If you can, please post them in comments for our entertainment!

I overheard the end of a conversation between Sheila and Pam in the office, and Sheila was saying “Oh, Pam, its really been quite carcinogenic having this conversation. I feel so much better now. ”

I think she meant cathartic.

Oops!  

*In case you’re not sure what Malapropism means, click here.

4 Responses to “Dr, I appear to be suffering from Malapropism…..”


  1. 1 salahudin 1 October 2007 at 1:47 am

    “Cindy, you’re such a plebiscite!”

    i have no idea what she meant! 😛

  2. 2 hoverfrog 5 October 2007 at 9:37 am

    I studied The Rivals for my ‘A’ level English Lit…..oooh ages ago.

  3. 3 daffy 6 November 2007 at 7:31 pm

    I’m afraid I’m the same, never gave it a thought. We had a small display, which my husband spends days preparing for. (Our kids are 17 and 13 so I thik the fireworks are more for him!) Hope you are feeling better now. :o)

  4. 4 daffy 6 November 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Whoops sorry I commented on the wrong one. ;o)


Leave a Reply

