A Word to the Wise – Don’t use Tiscali

…. and save yourself a hell of a lot of problems if you have to make a complaint about anything. Regular readers will remember by gripes. but if you haven’t already heard, read here.  A recent post by Mr Frog (read it here) also tells a sorry tale of moving house and trying to move the Tiscali connection. My advice is, don’t bother – look elsewhere, and here’s why:

1) They don’t do what they say they will. First of all my phonecalls to their customer service showed me that. They’d done ABSOLUTELY NOTHING in the intervening 10 days between my telephone calls, when they’d promised me that they would be able to sort out the connection in three weeks. Why should I trust them a second time? Also in my correspondence with the Customer service people where I was disputing what I they said I owed, I received a letter saying that they would ask the Credit Control people to write off the few pounds they claimed I owed them. I heard ABSOLUTELY NOTHING more from them, and then, redirected from my old address, a demand from the Debt Collectors arrived implying I had to pay up or else. Words cannot describe how angry I am.

2) Tiscali are not subscribing members of the Telecommunications Ombudsman, Otelo. Here’s their members list:

http://www.otelo.org.uk/membercompanies.php . This means, if you have a complaint, you can’t use Otelo to help reslove it. Ofcom suggest I try the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) scheme, which (once I’ve found it buried on Tiscali’s website) appears to be someone called CISAS.   

I will let you know how I get on.

I am NOT impressed.

2 Responses to “A Word to the Wise – Don’t use Tiscali”


  1. 1 hoverfrog 17 November 2007 at 10:56 am

    I stopped calling them.

    I just cancelled the direct debit and wrote them a shittygram where I laid out their misdemeanors. I included a threat to contact Ofcom and a demand for compensation. About 10 days later I received a letter telling me that they will look into my complaint.

    They still haven’t cancelled by service though.

    BTW I had to find their address in a forum complaining about Tiscali. Their web site and all correspondence that I have ever had from them didn’t have an address to write to. Not even the invoice.

    Actually the invoice requires it by law as it is VAT ratable. I might complain about this as well.

  2. 2 drunkenspaniel 17 November 2007 at 10:24 pm

    What makes me more angry, Frog, is that when you phone and speak to someone they are just oblivious to why you’re annoyed. They just ca’t seem to see why I’m getting the arseache with them. Bastards.


Leave a Reply

