Just two days

I have limited time left before there begins the 5 weeks of immobility. I know its all for a good cause, but knowing this operation is going to happen on Tuesday afternoon, is, understandably, causing me to be apprehensive.  I’m not scared of the operation or the anaesthetic, and I’m fairly sure I won’t be in huge amounts of pain afterwards – its the enforced rest, the lack of independance and the huge complications for daily living that having my leg in plaster is going to give me.

I envisage:

Having to plan when I’m going to need to go to the loo well in advance because I only have one toilet and its upstairs.

Having to go up and down the stairs on my bottom in a very slow and undignified way.

Having real problems getting washed. (Will I be able to get in the shower??!!)

Trying to find an alternative to watching crap daytime TV

Trying to avoid eating too much so I don’t put on any more weight because I’m less active

Not being able to go out for ages

People coming to visit me that I then can’t get rid of

Being frustrated that I can’t do all the things I really want to be getting done

May be it won’t be this bad. I’ll keep you posted.

Let the adventure begin.

4 Responses to “Just two days”


  1. 1 Liz 10 December 2007 at 10:47 pm

    Good luck in surgery and with your recovery!!! I wish you all the best.

  2. 2 drunkenspaniel 11 December 2007 at 10:10 am

    Liz, thanks for dropping in – I tried to leave you a comment about your latest post, but it won’t let me any more. I think you’ll need to check your settings. Anyway, here’s the comment I tried to place but couldn’t:

    Liz, I looked at your map, and I picked up that Darrow has gone somewhere remote, but I can’t figure out where these islands are in relation to you in Aus? Can you help me with my crap geography?
    Spaniel xx

  3. 3 Liz 12 December 2007 at 10:55 am

    Lol. Vanuatu is off the eastern coast of Aus, sort of North. The archipelago is right near Fiji!! So beautiful. I posted a little map from the airline if you scroll down to a few posts ago. He’s having a great time & learning a lot but it’s sad, as you can imagine, how much the hospital is in need of supplies, medications etc.

    I will look into the comment problem. Hope all is well with you.


  1. 1 EDS Alert Newsletter No. 23 « EDS Alert Newsletter Trackback on 19 March 2008 at 2:43 am

Leave a Reply

