Metatarsalgia

I went for my 12-week check up with my surgeon. He asked me how I was.

“Fine” I said. “My ankle is great. My foot really really hurts though – and it keeps swelling up. Its worse when I’m walking, and its making me limp.”

He prodded the joints at the base of each of my toes in turn. When he got to the one in my second toe (next to my big toe), I cried out. It was agony. I went quickly to the private hospital for an Xray to rule out a stress fracture of my 2nd Metatarsal.

Next day, I took the Xray film back to the surgeon. I’d already had a good look at it – and couldn’t see a fracture, so it was no surprise when he told me it wasn’t broken. Apparently I have Metatarsalgia, where the joint at the base of my 2nd toe has become inflamed and painful.

So, he gave me a cortisone injection – right into the joint in my toe. It was pain and discomfort I cannot adequately describe – but it was excruciating for a few minutes and felt like my toe had been bent suddenly at a 90 degree angle. Of course it hadn’t, but it felt like it.

Cortisone is a powerful anti-inflammatory, not a pain reliever, so it takes a few days to work on the inflammation. Its now two days later, and the pain is considerably less. I’ve been advised not to do too much for a couple of weeks to give it a chance to heal.  

I can’t believe my luck!

S xx

3 Responses to “Metatarsalgia”


  1. 2 drunkenspaniel 13 March 2008 at 10:19 pm

    A week on, and the paid is gone (unless I put pressure on the joint on purpose). Fingers crossed, it will be ok. xx

  2. 3 Moobs 14 March 2008 at 5:39 am

    Aw, Spanners, I can’t help but feel that’s enough pain for a while. I hope you feel better soon.


Leave a Reply

