Magic Powers

I’ve told a similar story in the past, but I can’t find it in my last year’s archive, so I’m guessing you’ll not remember it. Here goes:

When I was a child, I wished that I had a super power. Something wonderful that would make a huge difference to other people, and I could help them with my special gift of telepathy or invisibility or teleportation – or something. As much as I wished, I knew in my head that it wasn’t ever going to happen, because life’s not like that. Magic powers are the stuff of comic books and fantasy, and nothing more.

As I got older, I began to realise that I’d been searching in the wrong places for the magic. Someone was not going to bestow the super power upon me in a dramatic scene worthy of a cinema film, rather that it would slowly grow and blossom within me over time.

Of course I could not fly, or spin webs from my wrists, or speak to angels – but I do get a wonderful sense of joy and satisfaction when the magic works.

It took me a long time to realise that my special talent is people. I can read them. Not in some weird fortune-teller way – ‘cross my palm with silver, luvvie’ ; no – I just seem to know how to work with people to get the best from them. Something is at work that I cannot understand. All I have to do is be there, observing them and interacting with them and they respond in a positive way, whether child or adult. I think about what people say and do, I notice subtle changes in body language and expression, and I seem to do it without thinking about it – but it works. I have noticed a dramatic change in people within a very short time of talking to them. I know it isn’t really magic, but it feels like it sometimes!

Today was a good example. A bunch of people who so far had been learning a lot of theoretic background and activities that they then had to put together into a practical situation and were struggling with it. They were full of self-doubt, they were nervous and it was spreading rapidly from one person to another. I could tell the panic was spiralling out of control. The more they talked about it, the worse they made eachother feel. So I intervened. All I did was get them to see something in a different way, and gave them a relevant example in a positive, confident way, and got them to believe they could achieve it too.

But it worked. They tried it, and eventually left smiling, having enjoyed the day.

I do have Magic Powers. You just can’t see them.

xx

   

6 Responses to “Magic Powers”


  1. 1 hoverfrog 31 March 2008 at 10:42 am

    You can’t see your magic powers because you haven’t been exposed to radioactive toxic waste. A quick splash of the glowing green stuff will get you a spiffy costume as well. With optional cape.

  2. 2 drunkenspaniel 31 March 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Thing is, Hov – the old radioactive toxic waste wheeze isn’t really an exact science, is it? How much is a splash? A few drops too much and I could melt my arms off, which would make the cape a bit pointless!!

  3. 3 hoverfrog 31 March 2008 at 9:57 pm

    True but it’d give you an immediate super-hero name: Stumpy the wonder spaniel.

  4. 5 Moobs 5 April 2008 at 4:32 pm

    At least you are keeping employment lawyers busy!

  5. 6 drunkenspaniel 6 April 2008 at 8:40 am

    Moobs, whatever do you mean? Were you commenting on the sandpits post instead, perchance?


Leave a Reply

