2015, to baldly go….

Crikey. Its been years. And this is why….

In 2012, I watched the Olympics in London, and then, as the summer died and the autumn nights crept in, I had a baby.  I won’t go into the details of that adventure, this blog was never meant to be about children, and I won’t change the plan for my writing now that I have a child.

A lot happened in 3 years since I spoke to you. I’m pleased to see that some of you are still around, and that’s great. We’re OK too, me, Dog, Badger and now Bella. Check out the about and castlist pages to remind yourself about my story.

I am still ranting about various topics, and still spending huge amounts of time being nice to people, helping them through their tough times, telling them straight when things need to be told.

Whilst the spinning has largely subsided (it grabs me occasionally, but not often and not for long), I do now have a terrible secret. I’ve got virtually no hair on my head at all. This happened gradually, and so I didn’t get a massive shock, which certainly helped me take control. I found my first wig in 2010 when I still had quite a lot of my real hair, and so no-one outside of my house has ever seen me without good hair. My work colleagues commented on how my new hairdo made me look younger and they really liked it. I think I may scare people if they saw me now!

But I’m fine with it. I took control and got on with my life in the direction I wanted to go. I’m happy and healthy, but bald. It feels odd to say so here, openly, as if I’m betraying a close friend.

But bald women are sick, right? They have cancer?

Nope. And that’s exactly why I never wanted to have that look. I don’t want people to be concerned to talk to me. I don’t want people to pity me and worry about me. You need good hair in my job.

But you don’t see women with wigs that often, do you?

Nope – you only notice the obvious, plasticky cheap ones that are on wrong. But there are loads of people out there wearing them. Some by choice, and some because they have little choice. But you don’t see them  for good reasons – firstly, because you’re not looking for them, and secondly, because these days they make really good ones that stay on your head (even in the wind!), and they don’t look like wigs any more!

Anyway, I hope to be back here a bit more regularly.

Facebook just isn’t the place for being this honest.

0 Responses to “2015, to baldly go….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

